Berlingo Forum

Full Version: very loud on motorway
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi,

I have a 2002 berlingo multispace. It has been driving ok and I generally only drive in the city. I just had to drive 300miles on the motorway and as soon as I drove over 50mph the car started making a really loud droning noise and the engine also sounds strange (it is so loud I can not hear the radio even when turned up). I have to drive it back in two days and I am wondering is this a near fatal problem or would it last until I get it to a mechanic.
I have also had new front winter tyres fitted and the suspension seems stiffer and im getting shaking in the steering wheel, the car has been really good before I drove from belfast to berlin and didnt have these problems.
Im a total car noob.

Thanks for any help !
I'd check tyre pressures - if they are way too high that can cause a stiff ride. Were the new tyres balanced on installation? If a weight fell off could cause shaking. Also, grab the tyres and shake back and forth with hands at 9 and 3. Also shake with hands at 12. If there is any slop then check wheel bolts for tightness or wheel bearings.
hi thanks, I will check for movement. The wheels were not balanced just fitted in a rush. Just concerned about suspension failure at 140kmh
so just checked tyre pressure and they are fine and there is no shake in wheels
They should have been balanced I would have thought, that is probably why your getting steering vibrations also the loud noise relates to wheel bearings this can be checked as 3rensho said by shaking the Tyre but it probably is best to get it checked just incase