Berlingo Forum

Full Version: airbag warning light
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi all, I'm a newbie, ex navy pensioner who needs help. Vehicle is a 1.6 petol forte multispace & I've got what seems to be a common problem, i.e. airbag light on permanently. All I want to do is extinguish the light. My plan is to remove the feed to the light from the back of the instrument panel. I've searched high & low in an effort to identify which wire on the multipin connector is feeding the fault light, with no result.I'd be eternally grateful if anyone could please tell me either the number of t
he wire, the colour or the number of the pin in the connector. Hope someone can oblige , many thanks.
Would it not be easier to reset the light with the help of your garage?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
For MOT, the light must first come on, then extinguish after a short delay as the system self tests. Devious and anti-airbag people put the light on a timed relay.

Unless the car has been in an accident strong enough to trigger the firing action, the airbag system should be essentially intact and working. It will be just as easy (and arguably safer) to sort out the cause of this fault. Usually it's an underseat connector; if you pull the clip apart and solder the crimping, then reassemble the connector clip it tends to resolve most of them.

People often get close to the mark by identifying a problem with the clip, but my experience has been that it's the crimping within, not the male-female connector contacts oxidising at the problem's heart.