Berlingo Forum
Diagnostic "gear" / Software - Printable Version

+- Berlingo Forum (https://www.berlingoforum.com)
+-- Forum: Berlingo Chat (https://www.berlingoforum.com/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: General Chat (https://www.berlingoforum.com/forum-7.html)
+--- Thread: Diagnostic "gear" / Software (/thread-14427.html)

Diagnostic "gear" / Software - ghost123uk - 13-10-2016

Hi all,

Getting closer to the time when I will actually be buying (hopefully an 06 Desire 2.0Hdi in green I've got my eye on Cool )

Now I've got plenty of experience with both electronics, motors and with computers (hardware and software) but coming from a previously exclusive "classic vehicle" background, I know very little about modern vehicle diagnostic testing. Being a "hands on" type of guy, and enjoy doing it, I would like to gen up on what is needed to plug into these vehicles to read fault codes and the like.

Could anyone give me a brief introduction as to what is needed to "diy" this subject? (Lexia et al)

RE: Diagnostic "gear" / Software - Dave1987 - 13-10-2016

Lexia 3 interface is the prior choice for PSA diagnosis/troubleshooting. Its a dealer level diagnostic kit and will allow you do do everything that the Peugeot or Citroen workshop can do, from airbag lights to reprogramming. Cable comes with Lexia for Citroen, PP2000 for Peugeot and Diagbox for new & old PSA cars.

RE: Diagnostic "gear" / Software - ghost123uk - 13-10-2016

Thanks Dave,

Now I hope you don't think I am being too lazy to Google this, but a couple of questions =

1) - Is that an interface that is plugged into a "normal" PC ?

2) - Is the software available to the public ? (and if so, is it expensive)

RE: Diagnostic "gear" / Software - 3rensho - 13-10-2016

I'm running DiagBox and the computer interface plugs into a USB socket. Software is readily available. I'd avoid the Chinese stuff though. I got mine at easydiagnostics.co.uk (I am not affiliated with them and they are a first class store, IMHO)