Berlingo Forum
Crisis averted - Printable Version

+- Berlingo Forum (https://www.berlingoforum.com)
+-- Forum: Berlingo Chat (https://www.berlingoforum.com/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: General Chat (https://www.berlingoforum.com/forum-7.html)
+--- Thread: Crisis averted (/thread-5725.html)

Pages: 1 2

Crisis averted - tanto - 14-04-2013

Almost did the unthinkable today. Was at the local Tesco with the wife and went to put in some fuel for a hospital visit on Monday, when I inadvertently pulled out the Unleaded nozzle and started to fill the tank. Very quickly I realised I should have been putting in diesel. DOH!!! In over 6 years of ownership of my Berlingo, I have never done this before. Glad I caught it in time, only put in 11p worth of petrol. Topped up with £20 of diesel, drove home no problem.
Had been having a bit off an "off day" with the wife and she got the blame for my mistake. All the way home I was nagged at , never again will I put in the wrong fuel. Just glad I stopped as quick as I did.

RE: Crisis averted - nil by mouth - 14-04-2013

11p of unleaded , got to be nearly a teardrop then by todays prices Grrrrr !

RE: Crisis averted - MudFT - 14-04-2013

Renault Espace, £40 petrol. then filled £30 diesel.
106,000 miles later, engine still ran as new!

Never seen a diesel 'damaged' with petrol.
DPF = unknown territory however!

RE: Crisis averted - ron - 14-04-2013

(14-04-2013, 08:22 PM)MudFT Wrote:  Renault Espace, £40 petrol. then filled £30 diesel.
106,000 miles later, engine still ran as new!

Never seen a diesel 'damaged' with petrol.
DPF = unknown territory however!

The older mechanical will not suffer from a drop of petrol.I used to add 1ltr per tank in my C15 for better winter starting.
With my HDi I would poop bricks.I have seen 2 common rails wrecked with misfuelling.salut:

RE: Crisis averted - Opensauce - 14-04-2013

If you do accidently put a bit of petrol in, chuck in half litre of 2 stroke oil to make up for the lack of lubrication.