Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 1.5 Average
[Transmission] FUEL CONSUMPTION POOR
hello there this is my first time here and i could use some help i drive a 63 plate Berlingo multispace 1.6hdi egs6 and i am wondering what the fuel consumption should be i live in a very rural area and don't drive the car hard and have found i am averaging at about 42 -43 mpg and the gear box also seems to be very sloopy with its changes it can jump from 1st to 2bnd and back to 1st while moving off from a stationary position also the car sometimes wont move off from a stationary position the car has been in to local citroen dealer and had the gear box data updated but still seems to be very poor i also have a 14 plate c4 106hdi egs6 and drive this car the same and get 67.2mpg whats going wrong with my car please please can someone give me some advice i would really apprecaite it :brickwall: i look forward to hearing from you thank you in advance
It's going to be impossible to give you a reason for your poor consumption on here, without having a very thorough look at the car. All you will get is suggestions , which will cover everything. You need to seek out a clever technician, who understands thes cars. When I owned a Berlingo 09 plate, the fuel consumption was similar to what you are seeing, ie low 40's. Maybe the 14 plate car is a later generation vehicle, the newer cars have improved quite a bit. I have a customer who has a 10 plate that we have Eco tuned, and it gets about 60 mpg pretty consistently .
[+] 1 user says Thank You to Lighty for this post
When your car doesn't move off when selected "auto", check the instrument panel / screen and see if it shows "N ".

Car must be stationary when selecting " Reverse ", it seems that problems may occur when selecting " Auto " after too hasty a change into " Reverse " immediately before..ie:- 3 point turn. Try switching off ignition and remove key, then turn back on if it happens again
Former 2011 Mk3 XTR owner Confusedalut: