Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Hard Wire For Dashcam with permanent feed
#1
Hi everyone, thanks in advance for any info that may help me with the above subject.

I have a 2014 L1 rhd and i am looking to hard wire it into the "in cab" fuse box on a permanent feed.
I will be using the cameras supplied cigarette lighter socket male charger (in line) connected to an extra female adapter which i would like to fuse tap and when both are connected/joined will be tucked away behind glove box.

Has anyone done this or has anyone got any ideas as to where i can tap into a permanent feed for the extra female as i would like the camera to roll continuously without having to use the obvious dash cigarette lighter "in view" configuration





Your influence like your shadow extends where you may never be!
Reply
#2
There are piggyback fuses on ebay which you can plug into the fuse box and it gives a fused feed for you camera.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Add-A-Circuit-...27f18f4d0f
[+] 1 user says Thank You to brodfather11 for this post
Reply
#3
Thanks for your reply Brodfather, i am intending to use a piggyback but ideally i need to know a suitable slot in the fuse box that has a permanent feed. Most of the fuses are the micro type and almost impossible to get at using the supplied tweezers. I have got a norm sized piggy back holder, i am not sure if they do one for a micro fuse.
I am trying to avoid going down the "fuse box under the bonnet" route.

Cheers!
Your influence like your shadow extends where you may never be!
Reply
#4
They do do mini piggyback fuse holders, try under the steering wheel fuse box  if  the new models  have a fuse box there,   its handy and if its like mine there are choices for a ignition control feed or permanent live feed. Your handbook will give you a good idea of which fuse to use.

 (doubt if its like mine 01 reg 1.9d )  Huh
Reply
#5
(07-03-2015, 10:53 PM)brodfather11 Wrote:  They do do mini piggyback fuse holders, try under the steering wheel fuse box  if  the new models  have a fuse box there,   its handy and if its like mine there are choices for a ignition control feed or permanent live feed. Your handbook will give you a good idea of which fuse to use.

 (doubt if its like mine 01 reg 1.9d )  Huh

I'll have a better look in the cab today depending what the wind is doing, nearly lost my drivers door from the hinges yesterday!
There is very little room for manoeuvre in passenger side fusebox, it's bad enough trying getting the meter probes in.
Not sure if the smaller fuses are mini or micro i will pull one and measure size as your right they sell piggybacks for standard mini and micro on Ebay so thanks!

I'll see how i get on and let you know!
Your influence like your shadow extends where you may never be!
Reply
#6
I'll be doing this my self soon. My plan is to take power from the 12v lighter circuit with an inline fuse for extra protection.
Reply
#7
(08-03-2015, 10:01 AM)RadgieGadgie Wrote:  There is very little room for manoeuvre in passenger side fusebox, it's bad enough trying getting the meter probes in.
Not sure if the smaller fuses are mini or micro i will pull one and measure size as your right they sell piggybacks for standard mini and micro on Ebay so thanks!

I'll see how i get on and let you know!

If you could let us know what size piggy back is needed that would be much appreciated, as I'm embarking on the same job.

I think I'm going to use an ignition live supply rather than a permanent live, at first anyway. This way it will switch on and off automatically. Although I know some can now sense the voltage change of the permanent live supply, so you get the auto on/off and parking guard too.

I'm looking at this one...

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/271762547330

And I understand the parking guard bracket may be available sometime now-ish. This contains the voltage sensor to enable always-on filming. With the standard bracket, I believe it can still do parking guard but only after a physical jolt and then until its own battery dies. My understanding's fairly limited though - I'll order it and see what it does.

If I decide to swap to permanent live then it's just a matter of swapping to a different fuse slot.

Where's the best place to take a 0V from?
Reply
#8
I've done the hard wire setup and it works but I've got it on an ignition controlled feed. My camera needs a 5 volt feed via a usb cable and so I've rigged up a 5volt feed for it.

The only problem is the interference on the radio , if in a bad reception area its terrible,  it may be the Chinese 12v to 5v voltage droppers that are causing it , unfortunately I cant find a cheap substitute. Tried three different ones but no improvement , I've even tried a ferrite filter on the cable , it helps a little  but not much. Huh

So if your setup works with no interference let me know please. Big Grin
Reply
#9
Is it more likely that the camera itself is causing the interference? Does it go away if the camera is on/off/standby? If the camera has an internal battery try running it on that, without the power supply on at all. Or try running it on a dangly lighter adaptor.

The camera's within inches of the radio aerial - it's pretty much straight above the interior light. If the camera's spraying RF interference into the general area then it will be picked up by the aerial. If it's a similar frequency to a radio station then it will interfere.

If the camera's the problem then another camera is probably the only cure. What model is it?
Reply
#10
Thanks doofer

The interference does go away when running on internal battery, so I don't think its the camera (cheap Chinese thing) but that's not much good as it does not have a big capacity battery.  
It is quite near the aerial and the further from it away I put it the better it gets when hardwired powered though I never really get a good radio reception with it on. There is a little which is acceptable with the dangly wire powering it but the idea of hardwiring it in was to do away with the dangly wires.  May have to go back to it.   Dodgy

There could have been a clue when the packaging on one of the Chinese voltage dropper said it did not conform to the EC standards. Exclamation
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Welcome, Guest
You have to register before you can post on our site.


  

Password
  





Search Forums

(Advanced Search)

Latest Threads
Berlingo won't start 2009...
Last Post:Chri5
Today 12:22 AM
» Replies: 7
» Views: 167
Insurance!
Last Post:fcamp
Yesterday 10:52 PM
» Replies: 6
» Views: 822
citroen berlingo desire 1...
Last Post:sks01773
Yesterday 10:47 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 34
1.6 16v petrol cambelt
Last Post:sks01773
Yesterday 10:40 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 14
B9 DPF Tank Top-Up
Last Post:Lighty
Yesterday 10:06 PM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 112
Rear light Cluster
Last Post:Peter Guy
Yesterday 09:57 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 25
2012 enterprise berlingo ...
Last Post:CourierJim
Yesterday 09:03 PM
» Replies: 6
» Views: 118
Head gasket failure.
Last Post:Civvic
Yesterday 08:08 PM
» Replies: 13
» Views: 360
At last
Last Post:Gerald Bostock
Yesterday 08:06 PM
» Replies: 9
» Views: 327
Conversion from manual to...
Last Post:Civvic
Yesterday 07:58 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 88

Locations of visitors to this page