Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Upgrading DAB radio reception
#1
Is there any way of upgrading the aerial to improve DAB signal?
Has anybody tried improving the signal?

Thanks
Reply
#2
Yes - change the band to FM. This improves the sound quality too.

Sorry.
Reply
#3
ive got an amplified dab aerial from Halfords on my kenwood dab and the reception is great, my boss has non amplified and his reception is rubbish and has switched to fm, both stick to inside of windscreen versions, my van dab and work dab Makita sound quality is much better than fm in my area
[Image: 2dedca76-4da1-4bd2-aea1-452ddda68256.jpg]
[+] 1 user says Thank You to finny for this post
Reply
#4
Yeh I want to use DAB as there isnt many FM stations in my area. It just cuts out quite a bit.
I'm driving a partner van with dab from factory so I don't know how I'd amplify the dab aerial that's on the roof.
Reply
#5
The main issues with DAB are coverage and sound quality - and that's all down to the broadcasters, not the receiver...

http://www.techradar.com/news/car-tech/w...it-1217586
Reply
#6
This is what I posted about my DAB radio earlier this year....

"I had a DAB radio fitted when I got the car. It has never worked properly. I could hear next to nothing on FM or AM which meant no radio at all when abroad, and took it back to them a couple of times. They told me if you had a DAB fitted, you could not receive FM on the radio as well. Rubbish, I thought, so I went to car radio experts who told me the DAB unit was faulty. Back to the dealer. Usual 'you'll have to bring it in again for a master technician to look at it.' Hmmmm.... I suspected they would never get it working properly. Finally, I thought 'Sod it.' I asked the car radio shop to fit a new one for me. They said the DAB Citroen had fitted was pretty basic. The new one cost £170 fitted and works like a dream. I can get FM and AM too!!!!! The control is far easier to operate. I've written off the £170. The original DAB was part of the deal from Citroen. Pity I've been five months without a proper radio. Next time I get a new car, I'll go straight to the car radio experts."

My point is, it took car radio specialists to sort it out, and there is excellent reception with the aerial on the window. I don't know about upgrading it, but it would be worth having a word with a car radio specialist. They warned me that DAB reception could be patchy, but I've not found that at all, but I do live in the city. I take Doofer's point (above), too.
Reply
#7
Mine has been back to citroen this week as the DAB has been utterly Sh*t recently.

They've pulled the unit, tested all the connections and upgraded the software - still rubbish on the A3 in the mornings.

However, once I had taken my dashcam down and put it somewhere else on the windscreen, it has fixed the problem. Whoops!
2015 1.6 L1850 90ps In Artic Steel inc Look Pack and Lighting Pack.
Reply
#8
(07-10-2016, 10:55 AM)Tree Wrote:  Mine has been back to citroen this week as the DAB has been utterly Sh*t recently.

They've pulled the unit, tested all the connections and upgraded the software - still rubbish on the A3 in the mornings.

However, once I had taken my dashcam down and put it somewhere else on the windscreen, it has fixed the problem. Whoops!

I brought one of these  for my 07 M59 Berlingo ,fitted it to the rear of the roof (as they recommend & where most modern cars now have their aerials fitted) & far more stations appeared on the display the signal didn't dropout everytime I drove under power cables anymore  .
Reply
#9
Tony, the facelift vans with the touchscreen and built in DAB already have an amplified aerial. My problem was simply an EMF issue caused by the dashcam. Once I moved it away from the aerial the DAB works fine now.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
2015 1.6 L1850 90ps In Artic Steel inc Look Pack and Lighting Pack.
Reply
#10
Does your cam have a CE mark? This is supposed to mean it complies with regulations, including interference.

Alternatively, some Chinese manufacturers have decided that their very similar logo just means "Chinese Export"!...

http://www.icomuk.co.uk/News_Article/3794/17103/

So if there's no space between the C and E then it means nothing! In fact a genuine logo probably means nothing too - this "self-certification" system's become a complete joke.
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Welcome, Guest
You have to register before you can post on our site.


  

Password
  





Search Forums

(Advanced Search)

Latest Threads
1.6 16v petrol cambelt
Last Post:cancunia
Yesterday 11:59 PM
» Replies: 13
» Views: 257
Ncb help
Last Post:Jed Clampit
Yesterday 10:32 PM
» Replies: 5
» Views: 148
Saying Hello
Last Post:Jed Clampit
Yesterday 10:25 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 26
1.6 hdi 90bhp Turbo and i...
Last Post:Floydster
Yesterday 07:48 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 138
Heated wing mirrors
Last Post:Trevor
Yesterday 07:06 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 89
2025 Diesel Ban
Last Post:Tree
Yesterday 06:17 PM
» Replies: 15
» Views: 352
Hello
Last Post:Johny555
Yesterday 06:04 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 19
Roof noise
Last Post:Veitcast
Yesterday 05:48 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 31
Fuel consumption
Last Post:Opensauce
Yesterday 05:37 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 55
Lexia clone that works wi...
Last Post:kennard
Yesterday 02:59 PM
» Replies: 58
» Views: 1842

Locations of visitors to this page