Thread Rating:
  • 9 Vote(s) - 3.56 Average
Motor exchange, how difficult?
Hi, i have a damaged 1.4 gasoline motor, a sparkplug electrode broke and fell into the cylinder, causing trouble with piston rings. the motor rattles and drinks a lot, it is still working but now it would hardly idle without me working the pedal.
Well, ripping it appart to fix a new piston and stuff is not my trade, i am a electro-mechanical workshop owner but greasy motors are not my cup of tea.
So, i chose now to exchange the motor, the Berlingo is not very common and i do not have much choice, what if i exchange against something even worse?

I need an advice...

How is it to exchange the motor on the Berlingo, i have all tools and a very good motor-lift. I do not have space enough to drive in the car into the shop, but i can take it in the for dismantling- mounting all external components before putting it back. I am an experienced workshop mechanic but i do not touch cars anymore. I´ve changed motors on old Saab V4 a couple of times, i thought it was a long, dirty and hard job, this was before i started to work with mechanics...
Can i do it with a Haynes manual or do i need something better?

Thanks for your help!

Bruno from Stockholm, Sweden
Edited for pidgin english reasons
Ha, i´ve found a low-mileage car for 500£, a daily driver out of MOT and last muffler, nice motor it says, it has a lot of other parts i can use too.
Maybe that is a smart deal, makes a really cheap motor that i can actually try on the road first, hehe!
So i did not, the car was sold instantly... there are other cars and i will go on to look for a donor, best way to test engine and stuff instead of buying from the scrap yard.
Please share your knowledge about exchanging that silly motor *S*
So, here i go again, i found a donor or maybe just a new car, still i wonder how qualified the motor exchange is *S* I´ll start a new thread to ask about heat blower assembly exchange
Hi, whats year is you van?