Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 2.4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Running a domestic chest freezer!
#1
Almost every time we make a trip to the UK we haul along our chest freezer (it's not that huge) and plug it into the mains in my mum's garage,then when we are ready to come home everything is frozen nicely and it usually stays that way until we get home to Belgium.
Mum lives 30 mins from the tunnel at Folkestone and then it's nearly 3hrs to home from Calais.

I say lives,she died suddenly last October from cancer,so we now have a bit further to go,to Felixstowe,where my brother lives.

So,I decided to look into running the freezer off an inverter.
The first thing to do was see what amp/wattage the freezer was,turns out to be 150w,so I purchased a 300w inverter to err on the side of caution.
Next was to run some heavy cable (I used motorcycle battery cable) from the battery,around the back of the bulkhead,underneath the car and into the boot.The cables are protected with convoluted conduit and ran seperately and secured along the brake pipes.
The side panel in the boot was removed and the inverter was connected.


Did it work? Yes it did,even the milk was almost frozen when we got home!
2010 XTR in black with bells and whistles

[Image: 5A50i.jpg]
[+] 1 user says Thank You to XTR for this post
Reply
#2
Is it because you get better horse meat here than in Belgium ? Big Grin
So where does this bit go then ?
[+] 1 user says Thank You to ffrenchie for this post
Reply
#3
(20-05-2013, 06:31 PM)ffrenchie Wrote:  Is it because you get better horse meat here than in Belgium ? Big Grin

Not quite,there are many things you can't get in Belgium.
Mind you,meat is something we usually buy from a local butcher in Whitstable,it's much cheaper and of a higher quality than we get here in Belgium.
And I don't eat horse meat,not knowingly anyway Rolleyes
2010 XTR in black with bells and whistles

[Image: 5A50i.jpg]
[+] 1 user says Thank You to XTR for this post
Reply
#4
I'm surprised a 300w inverter would start a fridge compressor. Compressors can take up to 6 times their running current during the first second of starting. They have a seperate start winding that is brought in by a relay. Look up 'split-phase motor' on wiki

It will be having a hard life
[+] 1 user says Thank You to Fletch for this post
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Welcome, Guest
You have to register before you can post on our site.


  

Password
  





Search Forums

(Advanced Search)

Latest Threads
Saying Hello
Last Post:Jed Clampit
Today 10:25 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 18
1.6 hdi 90bhp Turbo and i...
Last Post:Floydster
Today 07:48 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 135
1.6 16v petrol cambelt
Last Post:sks01773
Today 07:37 PM
» Replies: 12
» Views: 250
Heated wing mirrors
Last Post:Trevor
Today 07:06 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 82
2025 Diesel Ban
Last Post:Tree
Today 06:17 PM
» Replies: 15
» Views: 344
Hello
Last Post:Johny555
Today 06:04 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 19
Roof noise
Last Post:Veitcast
Today 05:48 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 28
Fuel consumption
Last Post:Opensauce
Today 05:37 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 53
Lexia clone that works wi...
Last Post:kennard
Today 02:59 PM
» Replies: 58
» Views: 1840
Insurance!
Last Post:Opensauce
Today 01:52 PM
» Replies: 10
» Views: 925

Locations of visitors to this page