Thread Rating:
  • 11 Vote(s) - 2.55 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Radio RDS function and Searching
#1
Afternoon all!

The radio in my berlingo is playing up. When in RDS mode it seems to want to search every 5mins. (Whilst I whistle to myself until the radio appears again). Why would this be?

Something come loose/broke?
Reply
#2
Bad signal?
I DO MISS MY BERLINGO Heart
Reply
#3
Mine does that frequently, but I live in bad signal area. If yours has just started it check you Ariel is still there or has not come loose.
Reply
#4
Sounds like a poor signal or ariel as mentioned. However, can't just disable the RDS function for the time being so it doesn't keep trying to search for the best signal?
Reply
#5
Loose aerial plug at the rear of the radio....water in the aerial base (quite common).
[fon‌t=Tahoma, Calibri, Verdana, Geneva, sans-serif]The Older I get the Better I Was!  Cool [/font]
Reply
#6
(09-07-2013, 01:44 PM)tucker Wrote:  However, can't just disable the RDS function for the time being so it doesn't keep trying to search for the best signal?

Hi, did you find out if this was possible? I listen to Radio 3 and where I live the reception has interference on the frequency that the RDS chooses. If I manually tune to another frequency it's usually fine. But then the RDS obligingly retunes me to the 'better' signal. Interesting, it's just Radio3 that's poor. All the other stations are fine.

Dougie
Reply
#7
Surely it's just a matter of pressing the AF button? Once you have AF disabled it should be ok
Malc

Stupid computer!
Security system should not fail safe!
Security system should fail dangerous!
Reply
#8
(09-09-2013, 03:51 PM)crickleymal Wrote:  Surely it's just a matter of pressing the AF button? Once you have AF disabled it should be ok

I checked my manual and it doesn't quite match my radio. I think the manual covers the top-end model - I have a 2008 HDi but not the top of the range radio. I don't have an 'AF' button, but if I press the Menu button I can change the RDS search to OFF (or disabled - can't recall the exact terminology). The problem is, it doesn't 'stick'. Once left to its own devices the RDS letters appear again and it automatically retunes, whether I like it or not.
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Welcome, Guest
You have to register before you can post on our site.


  

Password
  





Search Forums

(Advanced Search)

Latest Threads
Washers not working
Last Post:CourierJim
Today 06:25 PM
» Replies: 9
» Views: 243
Reverse light switch prob...
Last Post:cancunia
Today 06:24 PM
» Replies: 11
» Views: 223
Fuse is burning all the t...
Last Post:fernandoblas
Today 05:23 PM
» Replies: 12
» Views: 401
HELP! Smashed passenger w...
Last Post:Sootyfoot
Today 04:31 PM
» Replies: 2
» Views: 56
Diagnostic "gear" / Softw...
Last Post:cancunia
Today 04:19 PM
» Replies: 15
» Views: 603
Poor cold startup 1.9
Last Post:Top drive
Today 02:01 PM
» Replies: 38
» Views: 1021
Berlingo Parts
Last Post:malgpz900
Today 10:20 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 79
XTR heater control bulb r...
Last Post:Opensauce
Today 09:19 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 80
Trip Computer on Type A M...
Last Post:cancunia
Today 09:18 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 63
DW8 engine tapping
Last Post:jj9
Today 01:14 AM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 124

Locations of visitors to this page