Thread Rating:
  • 26 Vote(s) - 3.08 Average
Knowlege block
Hi Folks, I am a retired electronics technician, and I am currently studying the DW8 diesel engine (later version using a ecu to control the injection pump timing) used in my 01 Multispace, my question is, how do I find a circuit diagram or schematic for this engine? Referring to things like the handbook or a Haynes manual isnt much help as they do not go into detail that I need. Short of buying a bootleg version of Citroens own database, which usually covers all the vehicles they manufacture and therefore is a bit of an overkill, takes 3 hours to load and a mite expensive at £30, and something I dont feel particularly comfortable with, why is there this need to hide knowledge? Surely any one engaged in some kind of dubious activity (although I cannot imagine how this applies to an old diesel!) also has the contacts to circumnavigate manufacturers limits on knowledge access. As you can guess from my handle, I also own a Morris Minor, no probs with info on this, it hasnt got any electronics! Its barely got an electrical system!
Hello and welcome, morrisminor.

Glad to see you are studying the DW8 engine, we will of course be asking you questions on it later :!::!::!::!:

To what academic level are you studying the wondourous subject of Citroen electrics? is this a foundation degree or are you taking it to Doctorate or PHD :?::?::?:

I would suggest that at the heady heights of PHD you might just have scratched the surface on what seems to be a thorn in the side and regular PITA with Citroen owners.

In short, the wiring and electrics leave a bit to be desired and finding things out seems to be cloaked in secrecy.

On my travels the other week I met up with members of the South Wales Austin 7 Club and their vehicles and I though how great, basic and back to grass roots.

The more one delves, the more one is left wondering why have the manufacturers done that damned stupid idea etc etc :?::?::?: