Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 2.5 Average
Newbie with a partner looking for info :)
Hey peeps, newbie here looking for some info. Mods feel free to move if I'm in the wrong sectionSmile

I've recently acquired a partner HDI LX600 on an 04, problem is I've come from a clio 172 so the partner feels like it handles like a boat lol

I'm looking to find as much info on suspension options as possible before I make a move. Basically I'm looking for better handling, before anyone starts I'm not a tool looking to slam it and boy racer about, I'm just use to stiffer suspension. Any upgrade is on the cards weather it's just springs or coil overs. I'm also not a huge fan of the gear ratios but after some searching I've not found a 6 speed conversionSad
I'm also new to torsion bars so a good guide to lowering toe rear would be useful. Anyways main questions are

- is there a good guide preferably with pics to lowering the rear

- what are my options for stiffening the rear and what dampers fit? I've heard 306 dampers fit and the Mi16 rear beam is the only upgrade that's a direct fit?

- what are my options to lowering the front? Again I've heard 306 dampers fit? I'm happy to fit springs but seen as the dampers have covered 140k I'm happy to replace them too. Btw I like eibach springs but will consider anythingSmile

- is there a better gearbox available? 6 or 5 speed. The van carries no weight most days and when it does it's never more than 100Kg so the low gearing is just a pain, I'd like to be closer to 70mph at around 2000Rpm

- what wheel options do I have? I don't want to scrub but I wouldn't mind some 16 inch alloys or at least some bigger/wider steels.

Also guys is there any routine maintenance that I should be considering at this mileage other than the obvious? I've just serviced it including aux belt and timing belt ( also I noticed the key way on the crank has some movement in it but looks like it's supposed to?:/ )

Any help appreciated guys and thanks In advance!