Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Bike / Cycle Carrier
Hi. Newbie here and proud new owner of my first Berlingo. Mk3 XTR 2013. Love it. Only problem is that the rear door bike carrier of our last car is not suitable for the Berlingo 2013 and I am struggling to find a suitable rear door carrier for 3, or ideally 4 bikes. Seems nothing is suitable. Probably due to the plastic looking rear bumper.
I am loathed to have a tow bar fitted as it is a huge expense just for carrying bikes around but am thinking it maybe the only option if we need to carry 4.
I know there is always the roof, but this will be tricky for head heights and ferries etc and not easy for 'quick' trips out. Plus, I would have to pay for roof bars to be fitted as well.
Please, any ideas / suggestions welcome... the more cost effective the better!
Thank you
Well, if you remove the front wheel, you should be able to fit quite a few IN the back, instead of hanging them off the rear...
(I managed to fit my 50cc scooter in mine)

Other suggestions by Google is:
http://www.fiamma.it/EN/products/carry-b..._backpack/

http://www.pendle-bike.co.uk/shopping/st...-racks.php
[+] 1 user says Thank You to Gadgetman for this post
I think if you want to carry 4 bikes safely you need something fairly substantial & I would say towbar fitting & using a good 4 bike carrier like Thule that holds the wheels of the bikes is probably the way to go. These carriers also allow bikes to be loaded/unloaded quickly which is what you want on days out etc. Bear in mind though that towbar download limit for later Berlingo3 is 70kg so weight of bikes & carrier should not exceed that.

You can get adjustable clamp on Fiamma tailgate racks that should fit & I think somebody has fitted one to a Berlingo3, there was a post about it on here a long time ago. I certainly would not to want to use lash on webbing type for 4 bikes.