Thread Rating:
  • 4 Vote(s) - 3.75 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Head Unit Upgrade
#1
Looking to upgrade the existing Continental RD4N1M/03 to an aftermarket head unit with Bluetooth built in.

Given each time I visit Halfords (whom I was going to get to install new) I get a different story on likely issues and parts required, hopeful someone might have a bit experience and advice, and possibly look to do this myself.

All I would like to know is the parts required, and how straightforward it is to replace.

I am hopeful from google searches, two parts being required, an aerial adaptor and canbus interface suitable to the new stereo. Is it just a case of plugging these into the existing connections and then connecting up to the new stereo? Or is it perhaps a lot more complicated. I realise I will look some functionality of the display on the dash, but hopeful this will just be the issue with the clock not being adjusted when it changes? All other functions will work as at present?

Grateful for any advice.

Thanks in advance

Scott
Reply
#2
You will lose the display apart from the clock when you change the head.

Are you looking to keep the stalk controls?

Pioneer make good stereos , however don't buy it from halfords , window shop there then get it cheaper online.

You will probably need to change the speakers too as you will notice how crap they sound with a new head unit
[+] 1 user says Thank You to homeruk for this post
Reply
#3
Thanks for the input. When you say I will lose the display apart from the clock, would this include the date and the information ie fuel etc?

Also re the speakers, as it is a work vehicle, on a budget when it comes to doing this, and was hoping to get it done below £200, which is based on the headunit and parts being around the £150 mark, £50 fitting if needed. I suppose I could get the radio done 1st and see how bad it is, as long as it can be heard and handsfree calls better than the portable device I have, may have to just do with it.

I would like to use the stalk adaptor, however, if not no big issue.

Do you know if it is relatively straightforward to do the install? If its just a case of removing, connecting up the new with the new cables, happy to do so, concern being I have heard some cables may have to be swapped to provide a permanent feed.

Thanks
Reply
#4
Take it you have the mk3?

Of course you have , silly me has just noticed where you have posted this.....

Not up to speed I'm afraid on the mk3 hopefully some one will be along soon who has done a swap and can tell you exactly what you need to know.

I do know however all head units swaps are straight forward as long as you have a head for electrics
Reply
#5
In my work van i have alpine With steering wheel contorller. Works perfect.
When i press the steering remote next and previous button at the same time. I Get the menu in my headup display.
And if i press the button on the wiperblade contorller i Get the car computer in the display.

Only thing You dont Get is the name of the song/radio You are lisening to in the headup display
Reply
#6
Big Grin 
(20-03-2014, 10:06 PM)Tikki Wrote:  In my work van i have alpine With steering wheel contorller. Works perfect.
When i press the steering remote next and previous button at the same time. I Get the menu in my headup display.
And if i press the button on the wiperblade contorller i Get the car computer in the display.

Only thing You dont Get is the name of the song/radio You are lisening to in the headup display
Hello. I want to change my radio also. I like pioneer Avh-x 5500bt. Can i also get in car computer screen like you on pioneer? The only problem is this for me. If i can Enter car computer screen Smile i will buy my pioneer. Thank you
.
Reply
#7
Is it not possible to add bluetooth to the existing stereo? It is an option with the standard stereo, so I'd hope it's an add-on, not a different model.
Reply
#8
ive changed to a double din kenwood a while ago, the display will not show radio station and you will not be able to adjust time or date, all the other functions like temp mpg etc still work off the stalk, if you need to adjust time/date just pop old head unit in, if you use all the proper replacement wiring kit this shouldn't take more than a few minutes to do, just unplug new wire, plug in power to old head unit
[Image: 2dedca76-4da1-4bd2-aea1-452ddda68256.jpg]
Reply
#9
I was looking at replacing the head unit and wondered has anyone added rear speakers to a van?
I already have factory bluetooth and stalk
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Welcome, Guest
You have to register before you can post on our site.


  

Password
  





Search Forums

(Advanced Search)

Latest Threads
New PureTech 110 S&S Flai...
Last Post:Jed Clampit
Today 09:04 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 49
What website to pass time...
Last Post:Solent
Today 08:32 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 21
Berlingo Parts
Last Post:Sb12
Today 07:56 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 25
Rear hub nut torque setti...
Last Post:jj9
Today 07:55 PM
» Replies: 15
» Views: 238
temperatue dial
Last Post:Kokain
Today 05:28 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 68
Trip Computer on Type A M...
Last Post:cancunia
Today 03:50 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 23
Loud beeping from radio u...
Last Post:nicko
Today 03:49 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 110
Ligts won't go off!
Last Post:Berlingos12
Today 02:50 PM
» Replies: 10
» Views: 468
DW8 engine tapping
Last Post:brodfather11
Today 08:30 AM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 74
Washers not working
Last Post:Luis Rosa
Today 07:47 AM
» Replies: 8
» Views: 229

Locations of visitors to this page